Mukundayi, an ambitious teenager, dreams of modernizing his country

education in Kasai“At the end of my studies, I want to become an architect engineer. I wish to contribute to the modernization of the town of Kananga where the majority of the buildings date back to the colonial era,” said Mukundayi, a 15 year old, proudly.

For three years, he was out of school because of his parents’ divorce. For several months, he has been living with his uncle and intended to return to school to pursue his dream. Unfortunately, the conflict forced the young boy to delay his project. It is only recently that Mukundayi has been enrolled in 6th grade at the Agrobelu Remedial Education Center in Kananga.

The young boy is determined to catch up and finish his studies. He considers it the only way to succeed! In the morning, Mukundayi follows the normal school curriculum and every afternoon he goes to the Remedial Education Center.

Mukundayi studies daily to become a renowned architectural engineer. He is regular and assiduous in class. His mentor, Mr. Delphin counts Mukundayi among the brightest students in his class. “The young Mukundayi is one of the most applied students in my class. He is intelligent and I hope he can achieve his dreams,” he explains.

Education in Kasai: the work of UNICEF and its partners

Since December 2017 and thanks to the financial support of UKAID, UNICEF and the Provincial Division of Social Affairs of Kasaï-Central have set up a remedial education program for children affected by the conflict. Seven Remedial Education Centers (REC), overseeing nearly 1,400 children, are functional in the town of Kananga and its surroundings.

The coaches of REC were trained on the academic upgrading, peace education, and life skills. School supplies, as well as recreational and development kits, were distributed containing balloons, jackets, whistles, pumps, and various games.

Read also:

Translated from French by Dorsaf N. James

The following two tabs change content below.

Albert Mbayo

Albert Mbayo est point focal communication au bureau UNICEF de Kananga.

Related Posts

No related posts found.

Leave a Reply

Mukundayi, adolescent plein d’ambition, rêve de moderniser son pays

éducation au Kasaï« A la fin de mes études, je veux devenir ingénieur architecte. Je souhaite contribuer à la modernisation de la ville de Kananga dont la plupart des bâtisses datent de l’époque coloniale », déclare fièrement Mukundayi, un adolescent de 15 ans.

Durant trois ans, il a été en dehors de l’école suite au divorce de ses parents. Depuis plusieurs mois, il habite chez son oncle et avait l’intention de reprendre sa scolarité pour concrétiser son rêve. Malheureusement, les affrontements ont obligé le jeune garçon de retarder son projet. Ce n’est que récemment que Mukundayi est inscrit en 6ème année primaire au Centre de Rattrapage Scolaire Agrobelu de Kananga.

Le jeune garçon est déterminé à rattraper son retard et venir à bout de ses études. Il considère que c’est l’unique voie pour réussir ! En matinée, Mukundayi suit le cursus scolaire normal et chaque après-midi, il se rend au Centre de Rattrapage Scolaire.

Mukundayi étudie quotidiennement pour devenir un ingénieur architecte réputé. Il est régulier et assidu aux cours. Son encadreur, Monsieur Delphin compte Mukundayi parmi les élèves les plus brillants de sa classe. « Le jeune Mukundayi est parmi les élèves les plus appliqués de ma classe. Il est intelligent et j’espère qu’il pourra atteindre ses rêves », explique-t-il.

Education au Kasai: le travail de l’UNICEF et de ses partenaires

Depuis décembre 2017 et grâce à l’appui financier de l’UKAID, l’UNICEF et la Division Provinciale des Affaires Sociales du Kasaï-Central ont mis en place un programme de rattrapage scolaire pour les enfants affectés par le conflit. Sept centres de rattrapage scolaire (CRS), encadrant près de 1.400 enfants, sont fonctionnels dans la ville de Kananga et ses environs.

Les encadreurs des CRS ont été formés sur le rattrapage scolaire, sur l’éducation à la paix et les compétences de la vie courante. Des fournitures scolaires ainsi que des kits récréatifs et de développement ont été distribués, contenant des ballons, vareuses, sifflets, pompes et jeux divers.

Lire aussi:

The following two tabs change content below.

Albert Mbayo

Albert Mbayo est point focal communication au bureau UNICEF de Kananga.

Histoires connexes

Pas d'histoires connectées trouvés.

Laisser un commentaire